50 years of connecting communities - and beyond!


The San Luis Obispo Council of Governments (SLOCOG) connects our communities by allocating federal and state funds, planning for the future and facilitating the collaboration of all levels of government, interested parties and residents toward a common goal: to improve the quality of life in San Luis Obispo County.

SLOCOG is an association of local governments in San Luis Obispo County, which is made up of seven cities (Arroyo Grande, Atascadero, Grover Beach, Morro Bay, Paso Robles, Pismo Beach, and San Luis Obispo) and the County of San Luis Obispo.

The organization’s central purpose is to examine common regional problems and suggest solutions. SLOCOG’s prime responsibilities include transportation planning and funding for the region, while also serving as a forum for the study and resolution of regional issues. 

In addition to preparing the region’s long-range transportation plan, SLOCOG plans and provides funding for public transit services, highway and roadway improvements, other alternative methods of transportation, and prepares the Regional Housing Needs Allocation and the Sustainable Communities Strategy as part of the Regional Transportation Plan. 



The mission of SLOCOG is to establish and maintain an effective transportation system, and enhance the high quality of life in San Luis Obispo County by providing resources and solutions and promoting collaborative inter-governmental relationships.


The vision of SLOCOG is to make San Luis Obispo County the best place to live, work, travel, and play.


SLOCOG Acronynms

Sign Up for our Newsletter

Keep up-to-date with the latest news and updates by subscribing to our newsletter.

Sign Up Now